Flank Steak with Kimchi Rice and Egg

I had no sooner gotten home from Bestie Reunion in NYC when I found myself in a very typical predicament- screaming toddler at preschooler pick-up. All who witnessed thought the same thing- so glad that’s not my kid.

Thankfully, I have good friends. The kind of friends who text- “Looks like you could use a drink” before I could even get out of the school parking lot.

And that was how it began, a Tuesday afternoon playdate that rolled into dinner when I had just gotten home and barely had a scrap of food in the fridge. So while the baby ran all of his angry out, I told tales of my recent trip and the amazing dinner we had at The Dutch, a fabulous restaurant in Soho.  It doesn’t take a psychiatrist to  tell you I was trying to get back to “a happy place”.

We dined at the typical 10pm dinner hour for New Yorkers, when we walked in the hostess was directing those without a reservation to come back in 2 1/2 hours. Clearly NYC Bestie picked a hotspot!  There were several really amazing dishes that came out of that dinner, two of which I vowed to re-create when I returned home. The dinner I ordered was the Korean Style Hanger Steak with Kimichi Rice and egg, and it did not disappoint. 

After re-telling the story the only reasonable thing to do was to try to make it for dinner.  I had eggs, I even had a frozen bag of kimchi rice and… well that was it. So I called Hubs and had him swing by the store for flank steak and teriyaki marinade. The Dutch used Hanger steak but we weren’t able to find it at the regular market so we substituted the flank which is very similar.

While the Hubby’s grilled the steak,  us ladies fried eggs, fed the kids, and heated up the rice. Sadly I didn’t have any seaweed salad and had completely forgotten there had even been that red sauce. I definitely don’t own 4 cool All-Clad skillets to serve our dinner on. But my version wasn’t $30 a head either, more like $15 total for 4 people. 

All told, we made this meal start to finish in less than 20 minutes. I think it’d be even better if the flank steak marinated overnight in the teriyaki. It sure beats my back up option which had been take-out pizza. Here is my ode to the Dutch’s Korean Hanger Steak with Kimichi and Egg-

Flank Steak with Kimchi Rice and Egg

2 lbs of flank steak

1 bottle Soyaki or other teriyaka style marinade (about 16 oz)

1 bag frozen Kimchi Fried Rice (Trader Joes)

8 eggs

If time permits, marinate flank steak overnight in 1 bottle soyaki. Barbeque flank steak until cooked to preferred doneness. I like rare plus, myself (which makes Hubs wonder about my 18 years as a vegetarian). Both flank and hanger steak are tougher cuts of meat and if cooked over medium rare may be tough like a shoe. You’ve been warned.

Thinly slice flank steak, Cook kimchi rice in microwave according to directions. Fry eggs, two at a time in a non-stick pan. Serve sliced flank, side of rice topped with two fried eggs. Serve immediately.

 

4 thoughts on “Flank Steak with Kimchi Rice and Egg

  1. Where do you find Kimchi fried rice? I have a good marinating sauce using Teriyaki if you are interested. Grammie Carol

      • Flank Steak Marinade: 1/2 C Soy sauce, 1/4 C brown sugar, 2T Olive oil, 1 tsp dry ginger, 1/4 tsp pepper, 2 cloves garlic, mashed or minced. Mix all together. I score the flank steak and marinate at least 4 hours. Cook on barbeque.

Leave a comment