Sure beets the canned stuff- Roasted Beet and Orange Salad

Beets are truly awful from a can. Avoid them at all costs. I never liked beets as a kid. Of course, I’d never seen a real beet until one showed up in fancy-form on my plate at a posh restaurant in Boulder, Colorado on one of my husband and my “reminiscing our college years” trips. Then I had the “Animal Vegetable Incident” as my husband calls the summer of 2008 (see CSA Junkie for details) and tried desperately to grow my own.  Fast forward to my CSA where this winter they have come almost weekly. The best way I have found to cook them is to roast in the oven, it brings the best flavor out. Microwaving is a back-up option if it is summer and too hot. But I would skip the microwave for this particular recipe. Sometimes we get golden beets from the CSA, which I really love.  They taste just like the regular ones but don’t leave the red stain all over your kitchen and hands making it appear as if you had killed a small pinkish mammal. This dish is best served as a side dish to chicken or pork.

Roasted Beet and Orange Salad

1 bunch beets- peeled and quartered

3 oranges, peeled and segmented

olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Peel and quarter beets, toss with olive oil, salt and pepper on a cookie sheet. Bake for 35 minutes or until soft and carmelized. Peel oranges, segment into smaller pieces and place in a bowl. Toss warm beets in bowl with oranges and let come to room temperature.  Serves 2-4 as a side dish.

One thought on “Sure beets the canned stuff- Roasted Beet and Orange Salad

  1. I love beets! They sweeten up anything…big bonus for my biggest critics (the kids). They end up in a lot of spinach salads in our house, since our CSA usually has a nice, big bunch of spinach each week. Another way I have “snuck” them in is in smoothies for a delicious after-school snack. In this case I usually boil or steam them to ensure they will completely mix in the blender and remain anonymous 🙂 Of course they are joined in the blender with the usual fruits – bananas, strawberries or what ever fruit I had too much of in the summer and froze before going bad.

Leave a Reply

