Roasted Broccoli- How I get my family to eat “it”

If you were to ask him, he will tell you he has always eaten it. He will even tell you he liked it. But, I know better. I’ve lived with him for 7 years and I have watched him push it around his plate and ignore it every time it was served. Naturally, when our daughter refused to eat it, I would see a smirky grin creep across his chin, a mental “fist-bump” to his daughter that yes- they were both suffering together at my cruel broccoli-loving hands.

We’ve been getting broccoli in our CSA for months now. You can imagine their disdain. I had tried it every way imaginable to no avail. So, I’m not sure what possessed me to roast it in the oven, but ever since that day, every single person in this house eats every bite of broccoli on their plate and… amazingly asks (or baby signs) for seconds. This week I had to buy extra broccoli because lately there wasn’t any left for us adults after the kids ate.

My husband says it’s the crunchy texture. My daughter says it’s because “it doesn’t taste like broccoli”. The baby grunts and shovels it in his face and hair. We eat this one night a week and will likely never eat “it” another way again….

Roasted Broccoli

2 heads broccoli

3 cloves garlic, whole

2 Tbl. olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. Chop the broccoli very close to the head and break them into small pieces. The less stem the better it evenly roasts.  I also break apart the larger pieces into smaller “trees” as the children call them. On a rimmed cookie sheet toss the broccoli, garlic cloves with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast in the oven until brown and crispy, about 20 minutes. Serve immediately.

Serves 4

2 thoughts on “Roasted Broccoli- How I get my family to eat “it”

  1. Okay for the record: It’s not a dislike of Broccoli, but a desire to eat other things if they are available…like bacon. -The Husband

Leave a Reply

