Lemony Carrots with Chinese 5 Spice

Confession- I dislike carrots.

“Hardly dear”, my husband smirks as he leans of my shoulder,”you despise carrots”.

Fair enough.

When my daughter figured this out, she of course used it as an excuse not to eat her carrots and everything else she disliked. “Remember, Mommy, how you don’t like carrots?” she starts out her plea each night. I cave. Carrots are…well…not my favorite.

I must find a way to like these pesky orange things that show up in my CSA basket.

Solution? The following recipe has won me over. I can honestly say it is the only time I have ever gone for seconds on carrots, let alone pushed my hungry husband aside for fear he might finish them before I did. They have a wonderful asian flavor due to the Chinese 5 spice.  I served them with jasmine rice and chicken marinated in Stonewall Kitchen’s Sesame Ginger Teriyaki but Soyaki from Trader Joes is an easier find and would be tasty as well.

Result? No leftovers…

So whether you live a hectic life and need an uncomplicated veggie side, or you live in New York and have a kitchen that doubles as a hallway- this 6 ingredient, 1 pot recipe might just be for you.

Lemony Carrots with Chinese 5 Spice

1 bunch of CSA carrots (or one small bag baby carrots)

2 Tbl. unsalted butter

1 large yellow onion

2 lemons

1 tsp Chinese 5 Spice powder

1/2 tsp Salt

For bunch carrots, peel and slice into matchstick size, for bag baby carrots, no additional prep necessary. Chop onion into thin slices. Zest both lemons, set aside. Juice both lemons and set aside.  In a saucepan over medium-low heat melt the butter. Add carrots, onions and the zest from 2 lemons. Mix and cover pot and return to low heat for 30-40 minutes or until tender. Check pot occasionally and stir. When carrots are tender stir in lemon juice, Chinese 5 Spice and salt.

Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

