Collard Greens with Bacon and Broiled Trout

I was inspired this past weekend. I was visiting my niece in Boulder and was lucky enough to land in town for the beginning of restaurant week. Boulder is such a great visionary for food and foodies alike. It’s likely that phrases such as “farm to table”, “sustainability” and “locavore” may actually have been born and bred there. While I couldn’t afford anything past $1.99 all-you-can-eat pasta in my college days, I’ve been lucky enough to travel back many times and I am inspired every time.

This trip my inspiration happened at Q restaurant in the Boulderado Hotel. I always steer clear of menu items I can make at home. While I did order the duck pate and a red wine flan which were amazing, I know I could never hope to repeat either in my home kitchen. But, I did sense that two of the entrees ordered by my tablemates could make an appearance in this week’s kitchen.

Having left town with a fridge full of CSA veggies nagged on my mind. I was desperate to find a new way to use them. When someone at my table ordered the Trout served with a side of greens I realized I hadn’t eaten trout in years and it’s simplicity would surely go with that bunch of Collards currently in my fridge.  Tomorrow night I’ll attempt the Schnitzle  with braised red cabbage.

Here’s is Part 1 of my ode to Boulder-

Collard Greens with Bacon and Broiled Trout

1 lb farm raised or fresh trout

1 large bunch collard greens (about 8 oz)

3 slices bacon, diced in 1″ pieces

2 Tbl. Majestic Garlic Dill

Fresh Dill to garnish

Salt and pepper to taste

About an hour before dinner, rinse and dry collard greens. Place in a non-stick pan over low heat with 3 slices bacon and a pinch of salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally over the lowest heat for an hour or until bacon is crisp and greens are soft and tender. About 10 minutes prior to serving, heat the oven to broil. Place a foil liner on a rimmed sheet pan and place the trout on the foil with the skin side down. Spread 2 Tbl of Majestic Garlic Dill over the trout. Broil for 7-9 minutes or until done.

Serve trout over greens and a side of rice.

Serves 2-3

One thought on “Collard Greens with Bacon and Broiled Trout

  1. Since my husband and I try to eat healthy I used turkey bacon and it was yummy. I love this blog and it has inspired me to hit the Farmer’s Market in my area. Thanks Susie Homemakeer.

Leave a Reply

