Braised Red Cabbage with Apples and Raisins

 This is Part 2 of my Boulder Inspiration (See Trout with Collard Greens and Bacon). Having left behind a head of red cabbage (I can honestly say I have never bought one) I was perplexed as to what to do with it upon my return. My husband suggested it as a topping for fish tacos. Well, that was more clever than what I had been thinking which was coleslaw. Poor red cabbage, no wonder it’s never in my fridge.  Is it’s only purpose to be a sad side-note to a recipe? Is it destined to play second fiddle to green cabbage in coleslaw and iceberg lettuce in a bad attempt to make something boring seem colorful and healthy? Why shouldn’t red cabbage play center-stage?

When my table mate ordered the Chicken Schnitzle with braised red cabbage at Q it was the inspiration I’d needed. This dish is stand-alone, especially if you are vegetarian. It’s sweet yet tangy, full of flavor and really fantastic. I served it with a frozen pre-breaded chicken from Trader Joes (admittedly sheer laziness) but a pork chop, sausage or even an unbreaded chicken thigh would be far more fabulous. I also served it with roasted potatoes.The cabbage can be made ahead, reheated the next day or even frozen for future use.

Braised Red Cabbage with Apples and Raisins

1 medium red cabbage, thinly sliced

2 yellow onions, chopped

2 apples, peeled,cored and chopped

1/4 C. apple cider vinegar

zest from 1 orange

2 Tbl. brown sugar

1/3 C. raisins

olive oil

Core cabbage and thinly slice. In a dutch oven (I use Le Crueset), season pan with olive oil, add chopped onions and saute until yellow. Add cabbage and saute another minute. Then add apples, vinegar, brown sugar, raisins and orange zest. Cook over low heat or transfer and to a 375 degree oven and cook for 1 hour or until cabbage and apples are soft and a deep red.

 

Leave a Reply

