Collard Greens, Kale and Chicken Savory Crepes

Every once in a while something amazing happens to me at Costco. More amazing than buying bulk discount diapers with a coupon. Every once in a while I find something that makes my life easier and tastier. Last week I found pre-made crepes. I had to buy them. I knew exactly what I would do.

In college there was this fabulous restaurant called Foolish Craigs. I never met Craig but after eating there once I’m certain he was no fool. He was on to something brilliant.  His restaurant served all sorts of savory and sweet crepes. Recently, Guy Fieri found him and put him on his show Diners, Drive-ins and Dives (http://www.foolishcraigs.com/foolish-craigs-featured-on-food-network/).  Foolish Craigs falls more into the last category but dive only in that quirky beatnik Boulder way.

I quickly perused his website and menu. It appears he does not make any with winter greens. I’m not deterred. He does make many varieties with chicken and all seem to have this “veloute sauce”. Hmmm, not sure what that is.

In the end, on a very lazy Sunday afternoon I decide to whip up the following concoction. The family loved it, even the kids. That being said I gave them far more chicken than greens in their crepe. My daughter said it was the yummiest burrito she’d every eaten. Spoken like a native San Diegan that one….

Collard Greens, Kale and Chicken Savory Crepes

 My advice here is DON”T be an overachiever. Buy the pre-made crepes and store-bought rotisserrie chicken. Every cook deserves to make a no-brainer meal at least once a week.

1 small bunch Collard Greens

1 small bunch Kale

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 store-bought rotisserie chicken

Pre-made heat and serve Crepes

1 tub of Philadelphia Cooking Creme, Lemon and Herb flavor (my answer to whatever Veloute sauce may be)

3 oz of shredded Manchego Cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

In a non-stick pan, cook down the collard greens and kale with some salt and pepper for 10 minutes over low heat. You may need a little olive oil to prevent sticking. Add 4 minced cloves of garlic and cook for 5 more minutes over medium low heat.

In the meantime, shred the chicken off the bone into a seperate bowl and mix with half of the tub of Philadelphia cooking creme.

Add the chicken and creme mixture to the greens and garlic and warm over low heat.

In the meantime, microwave each crepe per package directions. Stuff each crepe with filling and sprinkle with shredded Manchego cheese. For kids, I rolled up tight like a burrito.

Serve immediately.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Collard Greens, Kale and Chicken Savory Crepes

  1. Quite delicious and with a hint of sweetness in the crepe…very nice. Also as an added bonus, with the tight roll on the crepe it makes for a food that the baby can’t rub in his hair!

Leave a Reply

