Quinoa Casserole with Black Beans and Spinach

After yesterdays rear-expanding gorge on radishes smeared in salt and butter I felt I had to get out of my stretchy pants and redeem myself. Some would redeem themselves by sweating it out at the gym. I however, will always choose redemption in my kitchen over redemption in some sweaty germ-infested gym. My motto has always been- “Skip the Lamisil and grab the Olive Oil instead”.

 Here is a fun lowfat take on rice and beans that is easy to make and high in protein and iron. Hubs remembers it well from my years of vegetarianism. He certainly never complained, although he is a smart man who knows the saying “happy wife, happy life” are words to live by. I added spinach this week since I had a bag to use up and I think it is one of the best versions of the recipe I’ve ever made.   It can also be a great side dish to chicken or carne asada.

Quinoa Casserole with Black Beans and Spinach

1c. Quinoa

1 15oz can black beans, rinsed

1 12oz jar Roasted salsa

1 bag baby spinach

2 Tbl grated Manchego or other Mexican cheese

1 avocado, optional

Salt and Pepper to taste

Cook quinoa to package directions. In the meantime, in a nonstick skillet, cook spinach in a little olive oil and 1 clove minced garlic over medium low heat for 5 minutes. Salt and pepper to taste.

Add 1 can of rinsed black beans to spinach and 1 jar of roasted salsa in the skillet to warm over low heat. When the quinoa is finished add all the ingredients together.

Serve with grated Manchego or other Mexican cheese and avocado.

This dish is wonderful served warm but also great at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

