Can’t Beet These Princess Pancakes!

Do you ever feel like your can’t understand your children? I’m not referring to the baby whose boy-man-grunts and growls and finger-pointing makes perfect sense. No, I’m talking about how this morning my daughter asked me for “Princess Pancakes”. What was she talking about? I’ve never seen a princess eat pancakes in any of the movies or at Disneyland for that matter.

“Um, what exactly do you mean?” I instantly regret asking. Rule #5, With children, less is often more. Heaven forbid she come up with some sort of unattainable vision of a pancake shaped into a princess and I spend all morning trying to modify a plastic bottle to use as a design tool…

Oh, c’mon Mom…YOU KNOW what I’m talking about…” she replies. Clearly, we are no longer speaking the same language. The baby grunts, stomps his feet and points to the fridge. Looks like I’m the only one that didn’t get the breakfast memo.

Rule #57- “If the children ask for food that doesn’t exist and you create it using vegetables, they can’t possibly turn their noses up at their own creation.”  Or, can they?

Note- Rule #57 is just a working theory.

Ok, Princesses like pink…pink pancakes? What turns my hands and sink pink every time I use them? Beets! A-ha! I’m feeling very clever. The baby grunts his approval.

Hubs is the pancake maker in our family. I’ve listed his amazing recipe below. No joke, this man has probably flipped 10,000 pancakes in his life. He’s spent years perfecting this recipe and I highly recommend you use it the next time you make pancakes.  However, I’m not Hubs and he already left for work. I pull out the bottle of Bisquick Shake n’ Pour.

I put the beets in the microwave and cover with water and cook. I use the reddish water to add to my Bisquick instant mix. I then pull out my mini food processor and puree the beets. I add just enough to give a lovely pink hue, but not enough to give away my secret.

I put a plate in front of my daughter. She eyes the pinkness with suspicion. “Mommy, how did you get them pink?” she asks.

“With Princess Dust, of course”, I reply.

“I thought only Faires used dust”, she says.

” Did I say Princess? I meant Fairy-Princess of course!” and throw in my best fake-Royal accent to seal the deal.

“Oh, ok” and she eats them without another word.

Rule #58- “Lying to your children is acceptable if it means they eat veggies for breakfast”.

Princess Pancakes

2 C. All-Purpose Flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 large eggs

2 C. buttermilk

1 tsp Vanilla

2 tsp. Honey

2 Tbl melted butter or margarine

Beet puree (4-5 small beets)

Pre-heat oven to 200 degrees. Combine first 4 ingredients into a sifter and sift into a batter bowl. If you don’t have a sifter put into a large ziploc and shake and combine well.

Whisk eggs, vanilla, honey and buttermilk in a separate bowl. Add melted butter slowly after it has cooled slightly so that the eggs don’t scramble.

 Pour egg mixture into dry ingredients and combine. Add beet puree a few tablespoons at a time until correct color and texture is achieved.

Heat griddle over medium heat. Pour 1/3 c batter for each pancake.

Keep pancakes warm in a 200 degree oven. When pancakes are cooled they fit nicely into ziploc quart-sized freezer bags. We keep several in the freezer for easy breakfast for the kids. Just remove from bag and heat in the microwave 20 seconds.

3 thoughts on “Can’t Beet These Princess Pancakes!

  1. OMG I made these I think with too many beets because they came out bright red and nobody but me would eat them! I had to put whipped cream on them for the girls and even then they just licked off the whipped cream! So funny. I thought they were delicious!

Leave a Reply

