Beet Greens with Bacon, Beans and Walnuts

 Hubs always says “Everything tastes better with bacon”, which is why when I’m serving him things I normally throw in the trash I had better add bacon to get a warm reception. Oh don’t worry, I’m not really feeding him trash. It’s just that I’ve been feeling guilty about throwing away all those beautiful greens attached to the beets. They fill up my CSA bag so nicely each week and then fill up my kitchen trash can shortly after.

Hubs is a hard-working “bringin’ home the bacon” kinda man. The least I can do is feed him a warm tasty meal, but bacon cannot make an entire meal.

Hubs shakes his head vehemently  in disagreement and goes into his “Hubba Gump” style trance “bacon, jalapeno bacon, peppered bacon, candied bacon, chocolate covered bacon, chipotle bacon, bacon hash, turkey bacon…”

Ok, maybe for some and certainly in his bachelor past, bacon can indeed be a meal. I decide most the options he mentions are probably not the best combo with my beet greens, I decide on turkey bacon, lest we both start to look like “The Gumps” from behind. 

Having always thrown out the beet greens, I realize I don’t have enough in one bunch to made a decent side.  I have both collard and red chard in this weeks basket. I decide to add red chard which is in the same family as beets and looks quite similar.

I add a  little turkey bacon to my greens, white beans for a pop of color and walnuts for crunch. I might actually be on to something here. “Hubba Gump” agrees.

Look whose bringin’ home the bacon now…

Beet Greens, Red Chard with Turkey Bacon, Cannelloni Beans and Walnuts

1 bunch beet greens, chopped

1 bunch red chard, stems removed, greens chopped

1 yellow onion, diced

5 oz turkey bacon, diced

1 can cannelloni beans (white northern beans)

1/2 c. chopped walnuts

Saute diced turkey bacon over medium heat with diced yellow onion for 5 minutes. Add chopped beet greens and red chard and saute for 5 more minutes. Salt and pepper to taste. Rinse 1 can cannelloni beans and add to pan along with 1/2 cup walnuts and warm.

Serve immediately.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Beet Greens with Bacon, Beans and Walnuts

Leave a Reply

