Slim-Down Southern Spanakopita

Just when I thought I’d named every bacon there was in last week’s blog, I sat down to lunch with my girlfriend today and nearly fainted. Bacon Sushi. Yes, it exists and it is every bit as wonderful as you imagine it would be. No, it is not raw bacon. It’s merely all your favorite rolls with bacon shoved inside. Clearly, I’ve recovered from my cleanse and what better way to dive head-first into my foodie lifestyle than with a new amazing concoction? To be honest, I’m tres disappointed I didn’t come up with it first.  I suspect it will be Hubs and my next date night. www.sabukusushi.com

So what does Bacon Sushi have to do with Slim Down Southern Spanakopita? Well, for starters there is bacon in both. Second, as I dined with my Tennessee born-and-bred friend I was somewhat saddened to hear that she had not be reading all my blogs (insert a lone tear). Why? Because she, like so many others don’t like veggies. I know, I know. It’s hard to believe, but they are out there in a somewhat massive force. They are likely the same people my children will end up to be if my efforts to get them to eat greens via this CSA journey fails.

I’m used to tricking small children into eating my treats, but the grownups who dislike veg, well that is a whole other problem. I decide I must attempt in this recipe and moving forward to include recipes that will eventually bring them into my devious farm-to-table vegetable eating world (insert- maniacal laugh).

I decide to leave out the vegetable in the title. Why scare them away so quickly? The next trick I shall use will be adding the word “Southern”, which implies fattening and possibly deep-fried. I then quickly add the words- “Slim Down” so as not to lose everyone else.

The result is damn good, one part ode to the South with the turkey bacon and collard greens. Yet, also a slim down version that only requires 1% milk which results in a slightly more Spankopita product than Quiche (which is how it originally started).

Will it work to lure in the non-veggies eaters? I can’t be sure, but the fact that there is pie crust makes it more possible. 

 I can only hope that like the non-sushi eater who walks into Sabuku in search of the next bacon craze, that they fall head over heels in love with a completely new experience. 

Hubs nods his head in agreement, “They will dear, it’s got bacon in it…”

Slim Down Southern Spanakopita

1 9in frozen pie crust, thawed

2 C. 1% milk

4 eggs

2 bunches of greens, I used collard and kale

1 bag spinach

6 oz turkey bacon

2 Tbl. Majestic Garlic Cilantro

1 1/2 C. shredded cheddar cheese

salt and pepper to taste

Note- I use a deep dish pie pan and 1 trader joes pie crust. If using a store-bought crust already in the tin you will likely need 2 as the amount of filling will be excessive.

About 1 hour prior to baking, thaw the frozen pie crust on the counter.  Begin to cook the bacon and collard greens in a  large skillet over medium heat. Add a little olive oil if the turkey bacon or greens start to stick. Salt and pepper the greens and cook for 15 minutes on medium heat. Add the spinach and cook down for another 5 minutes. Lower heat to low and add 2 Tbl Majestic Garlic Cilantro and simmer on low for 20 more minutes. Allow to cool for a few minutes.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together eggs and milk and add salt and pepper to taste. In a pie pan press down the frozen crust and fill with greens and bacon. Add the egg mixture and top with 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese. Bake at 350 for 45-55 minutes or until the egg has puffed up and no longer jiggles in the pan.

2 thoughts on “Slim-Down Southern Spanakopita

  1. Wow neighbor that sounds great. I am going to try it but I am going to take it one-step further on the “Slim Down” and substitute the 4 eggs and use egg whites ( I am on WeightWatchers) Oh and how about throwing in a little Greek Feta Cheese to the quiche?? XOXO

Leave a Reply

