Broccoli and Sun-dried Tomato Pizza

I haven’t made pizza since Hubs did that whole P90x thing and threw us into the semi-mythical world I refer to as  “Proteindom”. It is a carb-less world, so in essence very sad, but there are lots of skinny people there who seem to be happy or at least are pretending quite well.

I suspect many of you have made a trek or two into “Proteindom” either through Atkins, Zone, Sugarbusters or some other diet where you weren’t entirely sure what you had signed up for. As the wife of a man in “Proteindom”, I wore a constant scowl- mama loves her some carbs. My options were slim- either make multiple meals (me, new-muscle-man Hubs, and the kids), let Hubs starve, or jump on the bandwagon and pray this nonsense ends soon. Thankfully, I find that most journeys here are round-trip as one can only give up the carb-love for so long.

There was one good thing that came from that fateful summer I grew only 2 tomatoes and 3 very small shriveled beets…and that one thing is making Pizza.  As per my Animal, Vegetable, Miracle experience (see CSA Junkie), I started making homemade pizzas on Friday nights. It became a wonderful ritual at the end of our very busy weeks. I came up with a million different pizza recipes and this one sticks out as one of my favorites. I of course, have a wonderful recipe for a very easy pizza crust listed below but please note that several grocers will sell raw pizza dough and I find that these are a perfectly acceptable substitute for time and sanity.

I have all sorts of pizza making gear- the stone, the pizza peel, the fancy cutter. After buying the Breville Convection Countertop Oven (see Must-Haves), I make most of my pizza in there. It comes with a pizza pan and even has a pizza setting. It is almost idiot-proof and best of all won’t make your kitchen 1,000 degrees on a hot Friday summer night.

Broccoli and Sun-dried Tomato Pizza

If making your own dough-

1 envelope active dry yeast

1/2 C. tepid water

1 2/3 C. All-purpose Flour

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

2 Tbl. Olive Oil

Combine flour, salt and yeast in a bowl and mix. Make a well in the center. Add water and olive oil and stir to combine. Knead dough on floured surface 10 minutes or in a mixer with a dough hook for 5. Rub oil over dough and return to bowl. Cover with cloth and allow to rise for 1 hour. Roll out for a 12 in base. Makes 1 pizza.

Toppings-

about 6 oz Roasted Broccoli (see How I get my family to eat “it”)

6 oz pizza sauce

6 oz shredded mozzarella

3 oz sun-dried tomatoes, drained

Cornmeal (for pizza stone or pan allows for no sticking and easy removal)

For Kid-Friendly Pizza– I take the roasted broccoli and blend it in the mini-prep food processor. I layer it first on the dough, then top with sauce and then with cheese. I leave out the sun-dried tomatoes. We usually have two pizzas ours and the kid-friendly version. If you do so the same double both the recipes listed above.

For Regular Version– layer sauce, cheese and top with tomatoes and broccoli. I bake at 450 for 18 minutes in the Breville which is 4 minutes more than the setting for a 14″ fresh pizza is set for. I like my cheese a bit crispy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Broccoli and Sun-dried Tomato Pizza

  1. Good Lord woman.. you need to take over Martha Stewart’s job when she kicks the bucket.. (or goes back to jail). Whichever comes first!!!

Leave a Reply

