Kumquat Tea Cake

Sometimes I have to drive Hubs’ Man-Car. It’s a bumpy, noisy, rough-riding beast of a vehicle that has none of the conveniences and charms that the Foodie enjoys in her Volvo. Every time I drive Hubs’ car we end up having the same conversation and it goes something like this…

Me- “Babe! I’m in your car and I can’t see from the side view mirrors! I can’t figure out which button to push! Help!”

Hubs- “Ok, you see the button right under the radio, push that down.”

Me- “I did! That just rolls down the window!”

Hubs- “Yes dear, roll down the window and stick your hand out and move the mirror.”

Me- “What the?…”

Hubs’ car is not an oldie, in fact it’s quite new. Why it comes without modern conveniences such as movable mirrors and doors that have hinges I’ll never understand. It makes him and the baby very happy though, confirming it must be a man thing, so I just deal.

Another thing which irks me when driving Hubs’ car is that he doesn’t have any of my radio stations saved. So I have to do that “scan” mode and wait until I find something decent to listen to. Last night on a long drive in the man-car I heard a song I liked, The Police, “Every Breath You Take”. Huh, I thought, why don’t I listen to this station in my car?

That’s when I saw it. The one word that sends any 30 or 40-something into a near state of panic and shock.

I was listening to the Oldies station.

Seriously? When did Sting become an Oldie? I’m tres’ depressed.

Of course, not all Oldies are bad and I’m not necessarily referring  to music or cars. I’m talking about old-fashioned style tea breads and cakes.

The Kumquat Project had to have a sweet recipe and here it is. This is a recipe heavily adapted from one I found in a decade old copy of Bon Appetite by Mary and Sarah Coepering. It’s adapted not because I didn’t like their recipe but rather in true form I didn’t have the right ingredients or enough of them. Since I never like to wake a napping baby to run to the store, I had no choice but to adapt. I made this Kumquat Tea Cake in both loaf and cake pans. I noticed that after baking the sliced kumquats on top were quite bitter and tangy, but this cake is best if made a day ahead which allows the kumquat slices to soak up some glaze which makes them sweet and almost candied.

So crank up your Police and bake this cake. They are now both Oldies and Goodies….

Kumquat Tea Cake

2 cups kumquats, halved and seeded & 5 kumquats thinly sliced

3 cups All-Purpose Flour

2 tsps. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsps. instand tea powder

1 tsp. cardamom

2 tsps. sea salt

3/4 C. sugar

1/2 C. brown sugar, packed

3/4 C. Vegetable oil

2 large eggs

2 tsp. vanilla

1 8 ounce can crushed pineapple

1/2 stick melted butter

1.5 C. powdered sugar

 In a food processor, puree the 2 cups halved kumquats 2-3 minutes. Use 2/3 cup in cake and set aside 1/3 cup for glaze.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and flour the inside of the loaf or cake pans. I used the butter wrappers to grease and Wondra superfine flour to dust the pans.

In a bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, cardamom and salt.

Combine sugar, brown sugar and oil with an electric mixer. Add eggs one at a time, and beat for 1 minute. Add vanilla, 2/3 cup kumquat puree and 8 oz can crushed pineapple. Add dry ingredients a cup a time and continue to mix until blended.

Bake cakes in oven 25 min. for round 9-in cake pans and 35 min. for loaf pan.

While cakes are baking, melt 1/2 stick of butter. Whisk with 1/3 cup kumquat puree. Sift 1.5 cups powdered sugar and whisk into buttery kumquat puree. When cakes are removed from oven allow them to rest for 5 minutes and then remove from pan to cooling rack and smooth glaze over cakes while warm. Top with thinly sliced kumquats. Store overnight wrapped in plastic wrap.

3 thoughts on “Kumquat Tea Cake

  1. The thinly sliced kumquats on the glaze provided just enough tang to make them a lovely compliment to the perfectly sweetened and moist cake. So delicious Courtney!

Leave a Reply

