Kumquat and Jalapeno Chutney

My sister hadn’t gotten the dinner memo. So when she arrived for family dinner this week she began a line of questioning that went something like this…

Her- “What’s that?”

Me- “Kumquat and Jalapeno Chutney to serve with the chicken”

Her- “What’s this?”

Me- “Deconstructed Kumquat and Beet Salad”

Her- “What’s for dessert?”

Me- “Kumquat Tea Cake”

Her- “Is there anything here that doesn’t have kumquats in it?”

Me- “No. You know I’m in the middle of The Kumquat Project on my blog”

Her- Blank stare.

Me- “You are reading the blog, aren’t you?”

Her- Blank stare.

Me- I cannot believe you are not reading my blog!

At this point, Hubs grabs the kids and runs for cover. He’s worried WWIII is incoming.

Her- “Well, in my defense I eat the exact same thing every day…and, I don’t like to cook.”

Fair enough. I said we were sisters. I didn’t say we were twins.

It’s true, Workout Sis eats the same thing every day. Some rotation of egg whites, oatmeal, chicken, protein bars and lettuce seems to fill her 3 square-a-day. Which is why Workout Sis is in rockin’ good shape. I however, would go on a hunger strike if I had to eat the same 5 things over and over again.

Hubs emerged from his hiding place. The coast seemed clear. I even convinced her to put a small amount of “kumquat diversity” on her plate- which even she will admit, she enjoyed.

This recipe is versatile and easy. It makes enough to serve multiple nights. The first night we served with Roast Chicken, although I think a nice white fish like Halibut or Sea Bass would be lovely as well. The second night I served it atop toasted baguette with goat cheese in a Bruchetta fashion.

Both were a hit. I hope you enjoy them too…

Kumquat and Jalapeno Chutney

2 cups kumquats, halved and seeded

1 jalapeno, seeded

1 medium yellow onion, halved

1 16 oz can Diced Peaches, syrup reserved

1/2 C. brown sugar

In a food processor (a mini-chop would work fine) pulse the halved and seeded kumquats 4-5 times, do not puree. Repeat with halved yellow onion until finely diced. In a saucepan over medium heat, cook the reserved peach syrup and the chopped kumquats along with diced onions for 5 minutes. Seed 1 jalapeno and put in processor to finely dice. Add to kumquat onion mixture along with 1/2 C. brown sugar. Stir over medium heat for 1 minute. Turn heat to low and cover with lid and simmer 10 minutes. Remove from heat and add diced peaches. Allow to cool completely before placing in a dish to store in fridge. Will last up to 5 days in the fridge.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Kumquat and Jalapeno Chutney

  1. Courtney: I can just imagine the conversation between you two girls. You are a very talented writer and I enjoy reading your blog. Karen

Leave a Reply

