Orange Fettucine

It wasn’t the trip where I got my high-heel stuck in a subway grate at 5am next to a parked car that was being vandalized. Nor was it the trip where my blonde girlfriends and I rode a row boat backward around Central Park lake wondering why all the people were pointing and laughing. On the particular trip I am thinking of, a friend from college and her husband invited us over for dinner one night to their beautiful New York apartment and she made Giada’s Lemon Pasta recipe. It was absolutely brilliant. So simple and unique. It didn’t hurt it was a hot August day, and the light lemon flavor on the pasta could not have been more welcome.

As I head that direction in the next few weeks, I start reminiscing on all the amazing New York meals I’ve had. Hubs and I always think fondly of a Thanksgiving meal with his sister at The View in the Marroit Marques in Times Square. Perfectly named, we gazed out at the New York skyline all while waiting for round after round of turkey and sides to “rotate” our direction. 

 I’ve had pizza at Lombardis, Pastrami at Katz’ Deli, Frozen Hot Chocolate at Serendipity 3 and dozens of  other meals at the “it” chi-chi places from the Meatpacking District to Brooklyn . So many of those meals blend together in a blur, but not that Lemon Pasta. It has always stuck with me. 

This is my take on that dinner.  Since oranges are plentiful in California this time of year and I’m currently out of my Pimm’s No. 1, I needed a good excuse to use them up. I decided this was my excuse.

Because there are so few ingredients in this recipe I highly recommend using fresh fettucine. If you have a home pasta maker this is a great reason to try it. Nothing is more wasteful than spending an hour making homemade pasta only to cover it up by some heavy marinara from a jar.  This is the perfect sauce to really compliment a fresh pasta. I have one of those machines and I can only manage it once a year. Therefore, I went with store-bought and it was just fine.

It may not be a Nathan’s hot dog nor sushi at Nobu, but this is an ode to one of my fave New York meals…

Orange Fettucine

1 pkg of fresh fettucine or homemade (about 9 oz)

1/4 C. heavy cream

1 Tbl. butter

1 large garlic clove, peeled and smashed

2 Tbl. VSOP Brandy

zest from 3 small oranges

juice from 2 small oranges

5 oz shaved parmesan

Bring a pot of salted water to a rolling boil. Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, add 1/4 C. heavy cream, orange zest, bourbon and a large smashed garlic clove, heating over low heat. Salt and pepper to taste and stir occasionally for 10 minutes making sure the cream does not burn.

Cook fettucine according to package directions and drain. Return to pot and pour over orange cream mixture and add juice from 2 oranges and 5 oz shaved Parmesan. Salt and pepper to taste again and toss to combine.

Serve immediately.

Serves 2.

 

3 thoughts on “Orange Fettucine

Leave a Reply

