Chili-Lime Grapefruit Magaritas

I have some of the fondest memories from Friday nights in my childhood. Mama and Papa Foodie would grill steaks, crank up the music and dance around the living room with this amazing looking blended yellow frozen beverage with salt on the rim.  Papa Foodie became well known for his concotions. It was certainly the beverage of the 80’s in my family.

I had forgotten how much I enjoy margaritas. This is most likely the result of  hearing that the margarita is one of the most calorically obscene drinks, with an average of 700 calories. So for the past few years I’ve all but given up on this refreshingly delicious adult beverage. Then came the Skinny Girl revolution. I’m not a fan of what I consider to be an overpriced watered down version of a margarita, but thankfully restuarants are taking note and I’ve had several really nice “skinny” versions of margaritas around town.

I decided if I made margaritas at home the first thing to go was going to be the sweet and sour mix. It is where all the sugar and calories are. I took a spin on skipping the mix and using fresh juice with my Pomelo Margarita in January. I have no intention of ever using the pre-made sugary stuff again.

Last weekend, when a friend and I were at a fundraiser for a new local library, I tried the most amazing spin on a margarita yet. This margarita was hands-down the drink of the event. I managed to find out their secret: a Mexican spice called Tajin (which can be found in most grocer’s produce sections around Southern California) and a product called Salsa Chamoy on the rim of the glass. The spicy, sour rim is the perfect compliment for the fruity citrus beverage. For those of you living outside this area I have put links to purchase these harder to find items belowor those of you living outside this area.

This is my spin on the “Sinful Margarita” by tequila maker Adan y Eva, I’m using fresh grapefruit and orange juices from my CSA basket in lieu of the sugary Sweet and Sour. As a result my version also has less than 150 calories per serving. Skinny and unbelievably tasty.

Hope you enjoy it at your Cinco de Mayo events!

Chili-Lime Grapefruit Margarita

For 1 pitcher

2-3 grapefuit, juiced (2 cups)

1-2 large oranges, juiced (1 cup)

1 cup Adan y Eva Tequila Blanco (or other clear tequila)

1/2 Cup Triple Sec

In a pitcher, combine all ingredients and stir.

For the Chili-Lime Rim-

Tajin Classico with Lime

Salsa Chamoy

Pour salsa chamoy in a small saucer and Tajin in another. Dip the rim of a glass in the salsa chamoy and then in the Tajin. Pour in margarita and ice. Serve immediately.

 To purchase Tajin Classic Spice-http://www.tajin.com/en-us/

To purchase Salsa Chamoy-http://www.amazon.com/Salsa-Chamoy-Liquida-Apricot-Dressing/dp/B0011UZCI8

To purchase Adan y Eva Tequilas-http://www.tequilaadanyeva.com/   

 

One thought on “Chili-Lime Grapefruit Magaritas

Leave a Reply

