Turkey Chorizo Tacos with Chard Greens and Zucchini

When Hubs and I were first dating, I came across a phone number on his flip phone. Her name was Lolita and I was instantly concerned. Who was this woman? How did he know her? Why was he calling her every single day?

“I can’t believe I haven’t introduced you to Lolita, I’ll take you to meet her tomorrow” he replied, when I finally got the nerve to ask. So the next day Hubs took me to meet Lolita and I realized why she was on speed dial. Lolita’s was the name of his favorite taco shop and Hubs was indeed in love with all that Lolita had to offer.

Southern California has its share of burger stands but unlike the rest of the country our taco stands outnumber the burger joints. For us natives who have grown up on the authentic stuff, Mexican food is an addiction.

Chorizo is normally served at breakfast with eggs, typically in burritos. For those of you unfamiliar with Mexican Chorizo it is quite different from the Spanish version which comes in a hard sausage form. Mexican chorizo comes minced or ground and is seasoned with similar spices. Traditionally, it is made of fatty cuts of pork and beef.

In an effort to lighten up an option for Cinco de Mayo this weekend, I came up with this easy weeknight meal. I found turkey chorizo at Sprouts in the meat department, you could of course use regular chorizo even soy-rizo. I then crammed them full of healthy veggies and boosted the whole-grains by using a corn-wheat combo tortilla which was softer and more appealing the either a plain corn or flour. I topped with fresh avocado slices and cilantro.

I hope you enjoy at your Cinco de Mayo festivities along with the Chili-Lime Grapefruit Margaritas!

Turkey Chorizo Tacos with Chard Greens and Zucchini

1 lb Turkey chorizo

1 medium zucchini, diced

1 bunch chard, stems removed (or substitute spinach), chopped

1 medium yellow onion, chopped

Fresh Cilantro, chopped

1 avocado, sliced

1 package corn/wheat tortillas (I used Traders Joes De Mi Abuela)

In a non-stick pan over medium heat, add diced onion and chorizo. Cook for 2-3 minutes or until onions are soft. Add diced zucchini and chopped chard greens and cook over medium low heat for 15 minutes.

Serve inside warm tortillas. Top with fresh cilantro and sliced avocado.

Serves 2

One thought on “Turkey Chorizo Tacos with Chard Greens and Zucchini

Leave a Reply

