Spicy Kale Chips

There was only one other time Hubs or I have accidentally lit something on fire when cooking. But, that is another post entirely. This week I did light something on fire- Kale Chips.

Kale Chips are definitely trending in the world of culinary “have you tried this?”. So much so that I’ve been trying to avoid posting about them since I felt everyone else was as well. But alas, as I set outside waiting for Hubs to get off work, sipping my Chili-Lime Grapefruit Margaritas (see previous post) I had three thoughts

1.) I love this rim, what else can I put this on?

2.)I really shouldn’t be drinking half this pitcher of Margaritas by myself.

3.) Or, on an empty stomach…

So, naturally I decided to make Kale chips and spice them up with Tajin the same spice I used on the rim of my Margaritas. I peruse the internet and find a few recipes. One suggests I line my cookie sheet in parchment paper, so I do. As I pull the first batch out of the oven and set on top the stove next to a pot of boiling water the following conversation with my 5-year-old daughter occurs

Her- “Is that seaweed?”

Me- “No, it’s Kale Chips. You want to try?”

Her-“Yuck! No!”

Me- “I’ll give you a piece of chocolate.”

Her- “No thanks, it looks too hot…”

Me- “I haven’t even put the spices on yet, it’s not hot!”

Her- “But Mommy, it’s on fire.”

Me- “Expletive!!! Move outta the way!!!! I’ve gotta get to the sink!”

Batch one ends in total cremation. I can’t tell Kale from burnt parchment paper. Turns out the flame from my other burner jumped ship to my cookie sheet and voila! we almost had the firemen over here.

Her-“Do I still get the chocolate?”

Me-” Yes, as long as you never repeat what I just said…”

For batch two, I scrap the parchment for just a good ole non-stick cookie sheet.  It’s a success! Nothing lights on fire, Hubs loves the chips, and so far no one under the age of five has repeated anything bad, yet…

Spicy Kale Chips

1 bunch kale, stems removed

olive oil

Tajin Mexican Spice

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. On  a non-stick rimmed cookie sheet, toss the kale leaves in enough olive oil to coat and prevent sticking. Season lightly with salt and pepper. Bake for 20-25 minutes until crispy. Remove from oven and shake Tajin Mexican Spice on warm chips. Serve immediately. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

