Scallops with Bacon Jam, Jalapeno and Kumquat

Papa Foodie had just had knee surgery. I was in charge of transport. He was rambling. You know, that good kind of rambling that involves heavy meds? I was immensely amused. So amused that I almost drove right past that cloud of dark smoke rising from the neighbor’s yard. Thankfully, I’d had a venti latte and was wired enough to circle back. The next 5 minutes went like this-

“FIRE!!!” I screamed and ran to the people’s door.

Bang, Bang, Bang. No one answers.

Pop, crackle, ash starting to fall.

I run back to the car and start honking the horn, NYC style. You know, like the cabbies do, for no reason at all?

BEEP! BEEP! BEEEEEEEEP!
Seriously, where the heck is everyone?

Situation Assessment- 9:15 am- Large fire in the side yard. Bamboo ignited 10 foot flames. Fiberglass boat next to flames. Truck, with likely a full tank of gas next to boat. Neighborhood prone to wildfires. No hose in sight.

Papa Foodie- “You want me to call 911?”

Me-“You haven’t called 911 yet?”

Papa Foodie- “I’m trying, but I think there is something wrong with my phone.”

Situation Assessment-9:16am- See above-mentioned, add in heavily medicated father.

I run around trying to find a hose. Finally, a neighbor shows up with a hose. He runs down to the nearest faucet and I run the hose to reach the fire. But of course, the hose is about 15 feet short of the flames.

Another neighbor shows up. He has another hose. But it doesn’t have the right circle-thingies on the inside and won’t attach to the faucet.

Papa Foodie- “I keep getting transferred around to different 911’s no one knows where we are.”

Two more neighbors show up, now the fire has jumped the fence and is in the neighbor’s yard. I ring the gate bell at the neighbor’s house to warn them, but of course, no one is home.

Meanwhile, Papa Foodie starts to climb out of the car. I yell at him to get back in. The last thing we need is a man down with a bum knee, no hose and an exploding boat.

Situation Assessment- 9:17am- I am living in a cartoon here.

Thankfully psuedo-fire-fighting comes to an end, 20 minutes later, when the firemen show up and put the rest of the flames out. They are equipped with hoses longer than 15 feet that don’t need the circle-thingies. My job here is done. Papa Foodie and I are exhausted and covered in ash. After we recover that afternoon, I make this tasty scallop dish similar to one PhotogBestie ordered in NYC. I use up all our excess kumquats and add in some bacon jam (a new must-have for my pantry), then I add a jalapeno in honor of our hot and fiery day.

Scallops with Bacon Jam, Jalapeno and Kumquats

I served this with a lovely fresh pasta I bought from a vendor at the farmers market.

1 Jalapeno, seeded and thinly sliced

10-15 kumquats, seeded and thinly sliced, ends removed

1 lb of wild sea scallops 10-20 count

2 Tbl. Olive Oil

2 Tbl. Bacon Jam (I found at www.baconfreak.com)

Salt and Pepper to taste

10 oz handmade pasta ( I used Spinach and Garlic Fettucine made by a local farmer’s market vendor)

Dry scallops throughly and season with salt and pepper. Set aside.

Bring a pot of water to a boil for the pasta.

Seed jalapeno and thinly slice. If you like spicy use all of the jalapeno, if not use half and package the other half for another purpose. Thinly slice kumquats, seeding and slicing off end pieces. In a skillet, over medium heat, add olive oil, bacon jam and sliced jalapeno and kumquats. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring often.

Move mixture to outer ring of the pan to make room for scallops. Add the pasta to boiling water and add scallops to pan and sear quickly about 1-2 minutes each side. Make sure not to overcook the center should be opaque and almost white. Fresh pasta cooks in about 4 minutes so they should time out ok.

Remove scallops to another dish to plate. Top with pieces of kumquat and jalapeno Drain pasta in colander and toss pasta in remaining liquid and jalapeno, kumquat, bacon jam mixture to coat as a sauce.

Serve immediately.

Makes 3 servings.

2 thoughts on “Scallops with Bacon Jam, Jalapeno and Kumquat

  1. Thanks for posting Darling. I can’t wait to try and make it. Never would have been able to recreate it nor do I have a clue what Kumquat ‘thingies’ are. XOXO PhotogBestie!

Leave a Reply

