Watermelon and Zucchini Chili Lime Salad

Poor Hubs, he leaves town for a week and returns to me soaking my hands in olive oil swearing about how to get my wedding ring off. I told him it was Tajin, and he asked me where he could find him.

“Spice cabinet”, I mumble, furiously working that damn ring finger.

“Really? You are buying it in Costco size now?”, he replies.

“It was a long week and we ran out of grapefruit.” I say.

Since we have managed to “drink the grapefruit tree dry” up at Papa Foodies house guzzling down Chili Lime Grapefruit Margaritas (see previous post), I needed something to give me my new Tajin fix. I’ve become rather fond of that crazy little spice. I’ve been putting it on BBQ’d corn with butter and rimming it around any other summery drink I can think of. Whatever possessed me to sprinkle it on watermelon, I just don’t know. But here is what I can tell you…

It’s freaking fabulous! I can’t tell you the last time I stood at the kitchen sink snarfing down half a watermelon.  In an effort, to pace myself, I decided to let the chopped watermelon “marinate” overnight in the Tajin spice along with some fresh raw zucchini.

Spicy, fresh, sweet and amazing.

A word of caution as I found out the hard way. Tajin is primarily chili powder and dehydrated lime but it is also heavy on the salt. If you are prone to salt-induced swelling as I am, you may either want to-

1. Not eat half a watermelon covered in the stuff in one sitting.

or

2. Take your wedding ring off before you do so.

Watermelon and Zucchini Chili Lime Salad

I wanted this to be a salsa, but truly it’s not fab on chips and as I learned, you really don’t need the extra salt. It’s best served as a side salad or on top of chicken or fish.

Equal parts Watermelon and Zucchini, chopped

Tajin to taste (I used about 1/2 C per 4 C. chopped fruit and veg)

Chop both watermelon and zucchini into similar sized bites. Toss with as much Tajin as you can handle. Soak overnight.

Serve cold.

Tajin can be found at Latino Markets, online at Amazon.com and Costco

2 thoughts on “Watermelon and Zucchini Chili Lime Salad

  1. If I don’t have time to get to the shops, can I use chili powder, fresh lime and salt? In what quantities? It looms fabulous but I need to make the dish for a get together tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

