4th of July Pimms Strawberry and Blueberry Custard

Liquor-soaked starwberries and blueberries? Baked in a creamy white base? What better way to say to say “God Bless America”?

I cannot take credit for the creation of this recipe. I follow a fellow food blogger who goes by the name Frugal Feeding. He created this wonderful dish name Strawberry Pimm’s Clafoutis which you can find here-

http://frugalfeeding.com/2012/06/15/strawberry-and-pimms-clafoutis/

Since I’m rather obsessed with Pimm’s No. 1 and have made many a drink involving it in this blog, I couldn’t resist trying out his recipe. Since he is from England I “translated” the measurements into American measurements. I added blueberries and decided it would be a lovely addition to our upcoming 4th of July Holiday. I also changed the name from Clafoutis to Custard since for the life of my I cannot figure out how to say “calfoutis”.

I suppose if you wanted to be really clever you could make it in the shape of a flag. If you do, send me a photo, I’d love to see how it turns out.

If you don’t have Pimms No. 1 handy, shame on you, you clearly don’t know what you are missing (I find mine at BevMo). You could however soak the berries in another liqueur.

4th of July Pimms Strawberry-Blueberry Custard

Serves 12

 1/2 lb strawberries, halved

1/2 lb blueberries

1/2 c. pimms

2 tbsp sugar

1 C. milk

1 C. heavy cream

10 oz sugar

 8 eggs

1/4 cup All-Purpose flour, sifted

A little butter and sugar to line the dish

Soak the berries in the pimms for 1 hour.

In the meantime, whisk together the eggs, 100g of sugar and flour. Pour the milk and cream into a pan and heat gently until they reach boiling point. Temper the mixture by adding a little bit of the warm liquid into the egg at a time, so as not to scramble the eggs. Set aside.

3. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a large rectangular dish and sprinkle with sugar.  Spoon the strawberries, along with a little of the pimms, into the dish. Pour the custard over the strawberries and bake until golden brown but just set – between 40 and 50 minutes.

3 thoughts on “4th of July Pimms Strawberry and Blueberry Custard

  1. Andie told me about this at work, I MUST try it! Pimms defines Summer for me, especially after spending one very long hot summer in England. I practically had it on a drip 😊

Leave a Reply

