The Salted Maple Pisco Sour

As Hubs and I approach our 7th year of marriage, we often think back to our wedding with fond memories.  I suppose our friends should have suspected our foodie ways as we insisted on getting married at the venue that served the best food in town.  We custom named our wedding drinks after our alma mater and outside of those few wedding crashers who scored a some free “Buff Love” cocktails on Papa Foodies dime, things went fabulously smooth.

It’s not that we don’t visit The Prado in Balboa Park anymore. It’s just the last time I did, I was pushing a inconsolable screaming toddler and the experience just wasn’t quite the same.

As I walked by, screaming child and all, I glanced at the menu and was delighted to see that they were serving the elusive Pisco Sour. At little online research showed they are only one of three bars in town doing so.

Naturally, when I found Pisco of the God’s recently at Trader Joe’s, while pushing the same inconsolable toddler, I tossed it in my basket. I want to tell you the two events were unrelated but I’d be lying.

Pisco is a brandy distilled from grapes in the wine region of Peru. It is most commonly known to be in the Pisco Sour and Pisco Punch. All the punch recipes I found require some fancy pineapple gum syrup that needs to be ordered online.

Skip that. Mommy needs a cocktail now.

I came across this funky recipe instead. I substituted out the usual lemon for grapefruit juice, which I had on-hand. It’s quite refreshing and fun on a summer’s day.

Plus it is a happy little reminder of the Prado…

The Salted Maple Pisco Sour

1.5 oz Pisco of the God’s

1 oz fresh squeezed grapefruit or lemon juice

1/2 oz Grade B Maple Syrup

1/2 oz Simple Syrup

Dash of Sea Salt

3 drops of Bitters

In a cocktail shaker with ice, combine and shake pisco, juice, syrups and salt. Strain into wine glass and dot with bitters.

Makes one drink.

Leave a Reply

