Lemon Cucumber and Tomato Salad

When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. Or, so the saying goes. Every Tuesday, when I head to the Farmer’s Market to pick up my CSA basket one of two things happens with my children. I get sugar, or I get lemons. Typically, it’s the latter. They want to run through the play water feature, spend and hour in the library thumbing through books and of course wander through the toy store which always ends in tears if they don’t get a prize. It’s not their fault I’m so busy. The market is really fun for kids and I wish I had all the time in the world to “hang out” and indulge their every whim.

But, Momma is busy and I’m just here to get my veg.

I made the mistake once of trying to talk up the market as a surprise. It ended in tears. LawBestie told me I’d made a “rookie mom” mistake. “Never make any promises of a surprise. They’ll never think the surprise is as good as it should be. You could have taken them to Disneyland and they still would have  been disappointed.” LawBestie is young but very wise.

So when I sense my afternoon at the market is headed towards sour lemons I always offer the Hot Dog on a Stick Lemonade stand. This usually soothes the savage beasts.

Once the children are sufficiently plied into a happy sugary-lemon-coma I make a break for the vegetable stand. You can imagine my chagrin when one afternoon my CSA farmer gave me Lemon cucumbers. The irony was so ripe.

Lemon cucumbers are a beautiful vegetable. They look like lemons on the outside and actually somewhat mimic them on the inside. Sometimes a vegetable is just too fresh and beautiful to do anything with other than slice and serve simply. So that’s basically what I did.

A little garlic, grape tomatoes, fresh chopped basil and some flavored olive oil and voila! This beautiful salad accompanied our dinner.

Lemon Cucumber and Tomato Salad

2-3 lemon cucumbers

1 pint grape tomatoes

1 bunch basil

1 lemon

Olive Oil, I like flavored oils such as Lemon or Garlic

Salt and Pepper to taste

Slice the lemon cucumbers thinly and arrange on a plate. Slice grape tomatoes in half, length-wise. Drizzle 1 Tbl. olive oil over cucumbers and tomatoes. Squeez the juice from one half lemon over. Season with salt and pepper. Finely chop basil and sprinkle over.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Cucumber and Tomato Salad

  1. This sounds yummy. I’m running over to our vegetable stand (which is not that good, mostly fruit) and getting some lemon cucumbers.

Leave a Reply

