Old School Bacon Beer Green Beans

“He’s playing hardball. And I got to admit. I’m impressed.” Beanie- Old School.

Sometimes I need to get old-school. Especially when it comes to cooking something the kids will eat. They’ve been playing hardball with me since they were both around one. When that lovely phase of “look my baby eats anything!” rapidly degenerates into- “my kid only eats dino-shaped nuggets, not even mickey mouse shaped kind, just the dinosaurs”.  Hey, we’ve all been there. And if you have kids and you haven’t, then you are very lucky. Or, maybe your next kid will show you what I mean.

Getting kids to eat green vegetables is not always the easiest task. Recently we had dinner at Hub’s grandparents house and Papa made a very old school style green beans, where you boil them down in a pot full of some sort of pig product for several hours until they are almost mushy. I remember these beans, it’s just how Granny used to make them for me. I’m not sure why I stopped eating this way.

Oh yea, cause they are soaked in pig fat.

As I watched his grandparents fill my daughters plate two things came to mind- “Oh good at least there is jello salad, she may eat that” and “I hope the baby doesn’t throw all this on to the floor and scream the words “Yuck! Cookie, Please!!!”. So you can imagine my amazement when my 5-year-old asked for seconds and then thirds on green beans. She even liked it more than the jello salad.

I shan’t say what my son did, although Hubs often tells me I’m psychic.

While mushy-esque green beans isn’t necessarily the way Hubs and I normally eat them, I decided “for the children’s sake” we’d try our hand at home. To ensure Hubs would partake in the experiment, I added bacon, and then beer. I tossed in some halved yellow grape tomatoes, which may have been pushing the envelope with the children since I watched them both scrape them off the plate.

What did Hubs and I think? Quite frankly, they were fabulous. The perfect accompaniment to roast chicken. We didn’t even feel bad about these bacon-soaked beans. After all it was for “the children’s sake”.

Old School Bacon Beer Green Beans

1 large bunch green beans, about 3/4 lb, ends snipped

1/2 package nitrate-free bacon, diced into 1 in.

1 small yellow onion, diced

1 Tbl. Majestic Garlic (flavor of your choice)

1 bottle of beer, your choice

1/2 pint grape tomatoes, halved length-wise

Salt and pepper to taste

I found a fabulous flavored salt purveyor recently at the Hillcrest Farmer’s Market. His Bacon Salt was the perfect accompaniment.

If you are cooking roast chicken with this meal, start the beans about the same time as you put the chicken in the oven.

In a saucepan, cook bacon pieces over medium heat for 5 minutes. Add diced yellow onion and majestic garlice. Return to medium-low. Cook for 5 minutes. Add green beans, salt and pepper to taste.
Add one bottle of beer, return to simmer, cover and reduce to low for about 25 minutes or until cooked soft.

5 minutes before serving add halved tomatoes and cook on low.

Leave a Reply

