Sneaky Spaghetti-Sqaush Spaghetti

There are a handful of moments in my current life where I think, “man, I am on fire today!” Just this week I had one of those days. In the morning I had an accepted offer for my clients, who are first-time homebuyers and have been looking quite awhile. I love their enthusiasm, which I must admit wanes after one’s first home purchase. That afternoon while schlepping the children around the local Safari Park, I had an extraordinarily rare moment where I showed a man how to correctly use a mechanical device. I literally stood in the parking lot, hands in the air, as if I had made a “self- field goal”.  I literally could not contain myself. I then did a smug “end-zone style dance” the kind the football players get penalties for these days. Excessive show of celebration or something of the sort.  Now, I should confess that the “mechanical device” was in fact  a stroller, but in my book it counts.  Hubs would like me to clarify that the man was not him, just for the record.

Finally, I hit the ultimate score with this “spaghetti recipe” and watched as the kids inhaled loads of squash while thinking it was angel hair. It was a home-run kind-of week indeed.

You can do this recipe two ways- the first is for anyone who is looking for a low-carb “spaghetti” option (as shown in the picture), just use the squash as your “spaghetti”. The second option is for sneaking squash into your children’s diet where you toss the spaghetti squash in with the angel hair. I ate it both ways and they are both fab!

                                                         

   Sneaky Spaghetti-Squash Spaghetti

1 large spaghetti squash

1 lb organic ground beef or turkey

1 yellow onion, diced

1 small bunch carrots, diced

1 medium bell pepper, chopped

1 28 oz can Whole Tomatoes

2 cloves garlic minced

1 lb angel hair pasta (optional)

olive oil

salt and pepper

Grated Romano or Parmesean

For the squash- Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees. With a very sharp knife cut the squash length-wise (this is the hardest part, it’s like cutting into a pumpkin). Brush olive oil on halves and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Roast on a rimmed cookie sheet in the oven for 35-45 minutes or until the squash is soft and you can easily scrape off long “spaghetti strands” with a fork.

For the sauce- Drizzle olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat and add onions and garlic. Cook for 2 minutes. Add diced carrots and bell pepper, season with salt and pepper. Continue to cook for another 5 minutes, stirring. Add 1 lb of ground meat, season again with salt and pepper and cook until almost fully cooked. I use leaner meats so I don’t drain, but if you are using a full fat meat, do drain some of the grease off before adding 1 large can of tomatoes. I like San Marzano but any whole tomato in a sauce will do. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes.

For those using the angel hair- About the time the sauce needs to simmer you will be ready to boil the water and cook to package directions.

The recipes should time out where once the pasta goes in, the squash comes out of the oven and you can “shred” the strands with your fork.

After the pasta is cooked and drained, toss with one-half the squash “strands” in a large bowl. Top with sauce and grated cheese.

2 thoughts on “Sneaky Spaghetti-Sqaush Spaghetti

  1. Being witness to this dance and the man that she showed how to use the mechanical device (which I have had for the last five years) I only have two things to say. First of all, thank you! I have been struggling with this thing for way too long. Secondly, the penalty would not have been for excessive celebration. Illegal use of an end zone style dance was more appropriate.

  2. What a fantastic Thursday! Lunch and shopping with the Farmers Market Foodie, making a delicious and simple recipe, and sharing dinner together. This one is a winner!

Leave a Reply

