Fedora’s Famous Truffle Guacamole

I didn’t know I loved fedoras. The comeback hat didn’t hit my suburban housewife bubble until recently. Maybe I’ve been too bogged down in baby drool and toddler tantrums to notice the changing trend on people’s heads. So last month when we were in Napa and traveling alone with another couple and without children, I couldn’t help but notice the new trend . And, never wanting to be “out of trend” I had no choice but to commandeer the thing for myself.
In fact, nearly every day he wore it, I stole it right off his head and wore it myself. I wore it wine tasting. I wore it playing bocce ball. I wore it to dinner. Don’t ask me why. I couldn’t help myself. Maybe, the wine that made me do it. But, it was the necessary swagger I needed. That’s exactly how I feel about this truffle guacamole. Regular guacamole is fabulous. Truffle guacamole is better than fabulous. It is sassy and full of swagger. It is the fedora of guacamole.
It just so happens that Hubs and my fedora-wearing friend and his wife make fabulous guacamole. I must admit, I thought it was her recipe, because she is Hispanic. When I heard her Fedora-wearing Gringo hubby made better guacamole than anyone in her family, I was intrigued. Then I asked him for his recipe. I then asked him if he’d be offended if I added truffle oil.
I will steal a mans fedora right off his head, but I would never add an ingredient to his guacamole without asking.
So this is Fedora’s famous recipe with my “truffle infusion” suggestion. It has become a staple at virtually every party these days. I’ve tried it enough times to know for some reason his version is still better. What’s that old saying- “If you can’t beat em’ join em'”? Which is why I’ve also given Fedora his hat back and recently purchased my own.
Truffle Guacamole
5 large avocados (small ones tend to be more flavorful)
2 medium tomatoes
1/2 sweet onion finely chopped
1 bunch of cilantro, stems removed
3 medium Serrano Peppers
Truffle Salt or Kosher sea salt
1 Tbl. Truffle Oil
Scoop avocados, dice all other ingredients, mix in plastic or ceramic bowl (metal bowl causes early browning of leftover guacamole). Do not mash avocados are mashed prior to mixing all ingredients otherwise it becomes too pasty. Finely dice, 3 medium peppers with most of the seeds removed for above mix will add flavor and be gringos warm/hot. If you want it to burn like crazy, leave the seeds in.
Leave a Reply

