Cedar-Planked Salmon, Spaghetti Squash with Leek and Carrot Puree

Every time I get leeks in my CSA basket I’m reminded of the time I read “French Women Don’t Get Fat”. In the book the author suggests that the reason the French are slimmer than Americans are because they eat whole foods, nothing processed. She also mentions a leek soup that one should use as a cleanse. I’ve never done well with a “cleanse”.  I admire people who can do them. I’m sure they work. However, when I’m deprived of solid food I get cranky. Hubs would say that “cranky” is a nice way to describe my mood. He would certainly use other, less polite words.

That evening, Hubs came home to a bowl of leek soup. When I say “leek soup” it was more like that old “boiled cabbage soup” trend of the 60s. It was leeks boiled in water.

Hubs and I were supposed to do this for 48 hours.

I lasted 18, 12 of them sleeping.

It’s very hard to work from home. Everytime I walk past the kitchen I get hungry. At least Hubs gets to go to work and be distracted.

So you can imagine his surprise when he came home that night starving to death and found the remnants of a burrito wrapper in the trash. He then proceeded to eat everything in the kitchen that wasn’t nailed down, glaring at me all the while.

So, because of this history I feel compelled to “hide” leeks in my recipes, lest Hubs get wind that they are there and begin his tirade on how I “starved him” on the “leek soup diet”, before we were married.

This carrot-leek puree is really quite wonderful. It paired very well with the cedar plank salmon but I think it would also be lovely with chicken or possibly an addition to your Thanksgiving meal. Hubs loves spaghetti squash in his low-carb world, and this recipe as it stands is low carb and gluten free. But, if your dietary restrictions allow you could easily substitute a variety of items included rice or pasta.

Cedar Planked Salmon, Spaghetti Sqaush with Leek and Carrot Puree

2 lbs Wild Caught Alaskan Salmon

1 Spaghetti Squash

2 Large Leeks

1 bunch carrots

3 cloves garlic

1/4 C. vegetable or chicken broth

Salt and Pepper to taste

Olive Oil

1 TBl. Seasoning for Salmon (your choice, we used a fish rub by Napa Style)

Cedar Planks (if using)

You can certianly grill your fish directly on the grill and skip the planks. Or you can roast the salmon in oven. If you are using the planks make sure to soak for a minimum of 30 minutes prior to grilling.

Season the salmon with your preferred seasoning/rub.  Set aside in fridge.

Cut the spaghetti squash in half, lengthwise and season with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast in a 375 degree oven for 35 minutes.

After thoroughly rinsing leeks and carrots, coarsely chop both and add to a large saute pan with 2 tsp olive oil. Season with salt and pepper. Add 3 large garlic cloves whole. Continue to saute until both leeks and carrots and soft enough to easily puree in a food processor.

Pulse carrot, leek, garlic mixture in food processor until pureed. Cut with a few tablespoons at a time of vegetable or chicken broth until it has reach desired consistency.

Return to saucepan and simmer on low.

Cook salmon on planks until cooked through. Skin will stick to the plank and you can remove the salmon.

Meanwhile remove squash from oven and shred into “spaghetti” shreds. Plate salmon on top of squash and rim the plate with carrot and leek puree.

Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

