Stuffed Cabbage

stuffed cabbageI’ve never been a gambler. Nana and Papa Foodie loved to gamble but the gene definitely skipped me. Put me at a blackjack table in Vegas, give me $100 and I’ll get up and walk over to the stores and buy a pair of shoes.

But that is not to say that I won’t take a sure bet.

Hubs and I have been on some incredible vacations over the past few weeks. Our first was to a place called Brush Creek Ranch, absolute Foodie and Hubs winter heaven! More on that later.

We just returned form our most recent trip where we went with the kiddos and their friends and families. It was there in the kitchen that Fedora (see Fedora’s Famous Truffle Guacamole) made the fatal mistake of bragging about Norte Dame’s future win in the National Championship game. I suggested that maybe their schedule hadn’t been quite as hard as Alabama’s. He didn’t like that. So he decided to bet me on the game.

The only sport I know anything about is College Football. In my 20’s I had an online College Pick’em where I ended up beating every guy I knew. I had seen both Alabama and Norte Dame play this season. This is what I considered a sure bet.
So we bet that if in fact Norte Dame won, I had to make Fedora 4 fabulous Foodie meals. If Alabama won, he had to give me his first class ticket home.

We set the spread for 28. And, as you know Alabama did end up winning by exactly 28. Here’s the rub- Fedora insisted we had bet that Bama had to win by “more” than 28. I insisted he was full of it.

So how did we resolve it? Well you can better believe I took a seat in first class, after all I am a woman of my word. Never mind I had to steal it from his five year old. I did commit to making him 4 meals and this is the first of them.

So who lost? Well, that was certainly Hubs who ended up in Coach with two five-year olds by himself. Which goes to show you I have the nicest husband ever

Stuffed Cabbage

1 head green cabbage
1 large yellow onion
2 28 oz cans of stewed tomatoes
1/2 C. brown sugar
3/4 C. raisins
1/4 C. cidar vinegar
For the Stuffing-
1 lb ground turkey
1 lb lean ground beef
4 large eggs
1/2 C. Panko Bread Crumbs
1/2 C. Quinoa
1 tsp. Oregano
Salt, Pepper and Olive Oil to taste

The first step is to core the center of the cabbage out. To do this use a large knife. In the meantime, boil a large pot of water. When the water is at a boil add the entire cored head of cabbage and allow it to cook long enough to peel each layer of cabbage off with tongs, one at a time. Set each piece of cabbage aside on a plate or cookie sheet to allow to cool enough to handle.

In a mixing bowl, combine all the ingredients for the stuffing. Salt and pepper meat to taste. If you don’t have Quinoa you can use rice, it is the traditional ingredient. I prefer quinoa’s healthier properties. Set bowl aside.

In a larger sauce pot on the stove, sautee chopped onions in olive oil. Once they are opaque, add tomatoes, vinegar, brown sugar, raisins and salt and pepper. Allow to come to a boil and reduce the heat to simmer and cover for 20 minutes.

While you are cooking the red sauce, if the cabbage is cool enough to handle you can begin to stuff the leaves. I use about 1/3 C. stuffing for each leaf. It’s not an exact science. The bigger leaves can have more, the smaller leaves less.
Once you have wrapped the leaves place in a casserole or over-proof dish with a lid. I used Le Creuset.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Cover stuffed cabbages with red sauce and bake for one hour.

2 thoughts on “Stuffed Cabbage

  1. We’ve missed your recipes and this looks like a good one. Looked up Brush Creek Ranch and it looks fun but you didn’t tell us the second awesome place where foodies like to go. Thanks for getting back “in the saddle” so to speak with your yummy recipes!!!!

  2. I can attest that the stuffed cabbage was absolutely delicious, as this was the first of four meals that are coming my way…… And yes, Foodie is so good that she had my son thinking it was more special to sit in coach…..

Leave a Reply

