Foodie’s Last Meal- Beef Wellington and Roasted Cauliflower

WellingtonI’ve done the unthinkable. I’ve signed up for an 8 week boot camp. It will require crack-of-dawn workouts and even worse a rumored “nutrition plan”. It may be food blog suicide.

The past week I’ve been contemplating my decision. It’s not that I eat unhealthy. I’m sure it won’t be too dramatically different and my CSA veggie basket should work nicely into the regime. I do suspect some of my faves like bacon and cheese to go, which is enough to make you contemplate your decision. Every meal has been “the last time I’ll have this for awhile”. Hubs, at the prospect of a bacon-less 8 weeks has been incredibly supportive. Even though he knows whatever weird stuff I’m eating will likely trickle on to his dinner plate as well. And, trust me it’s gonna get weird. Hubs’ motto has always been “go big or go home” so I’m going big on super-healthy the next 8 weeks.

Last weekend  I decided to have “my last meal”. I decided on Beef Wellington because the heavenly combination of Phylo crusted, mushroom stuffed filet mignon will likely not find its way into my 8 week boot camp regime.  To help us celebrate, Fedora (see Fedora’s Famous Truffle Guacamole) and family joined us and we shared a fabulous magnum of Rubicon Estate 2005. I suspect my wine consumption is also going slightly by the way side during boot camp as well. No doubt this will be the hardest part of this boot camp.

I can’t take credit for the Wellington recipe. It’s actually by Tyler Florence at Food Network. It’s surprisingly easy and incredibly fabulous. It also sent me directly into labor with my son a month before he was due. So tread lightly on seconds.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/tyler-florence/the-ultimate-beef-wellington-recipe2/index.html

Instead of doing Tyler’s suggestion of fingerlings potatoes and wilted greens, I did Roasted Cauliflower. Nothing against his sides but Cauliflower was what I had in the CSA basket this week.

Roasted Cauliflower

1 large head cauliflower, cut into small pieces

5 cloves garlic

Drizzle Olive Oil

1 lemon, juiced

1/4 C. silvered almonds

Fresh Basil leaves, chopped

Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees. Toss cauliflower and garlic cloves in olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast for 20-25 minutes or until lightly browned and roasted. Toss with lemon juice and top with almonds and fresh basil.

Leave a Reply

