Homemade Granola with Cashews, Pistachios, Cranberries and Flaxseed

Ygranolaou knew something healthy was coming after my last post. It turns out that four weeks into bootcamp- I’m not starving, I’m losing weight, and I’m still drinking (albeit a lot less) wine. Hubs has been my rock. He’s this uber-happy 5:30am alarm-setting, goal-maintaining, worker-outer. He sets my alarm, wakes me up with the happiest pep-talk, and before I’ve even made it to the closet he’s already downstairs slogging out some sort of “Insanity” video. Since the time change, the bootcamp works out in the dark (headlamps and all) in a local park that doesn’t even open until 6:30- we are a dedicated group.

Hubs has also been such a trooper with the food. Less bacon, more tofu and no complaints (at least not within my earshot). And the biggie- NO DRINKING Monday-Thursday.  Yikes. That one’s been tough. It’s definitely reunited that TGIF feeling in our house. I’d like to tell you 4 less days of drinking wine has saved us money, but my last trip to Trader Joes proved me wrong. I dropped $200 and had no booze in my cart- those dang protein bars are such a rip off.

One of mine and Hubs new absolute obsessions is this Granola recipe. I make it at least once a week and have tweaked it 12 ways from Saturday. But the version below is Hubs absolute favorite.  Hubs likes his granola clumpy, part cereal, part granola bar. If you prefer your granola less clumpy, cut down on the amount of honey.

I even served this Easter morning along with non-fat greek yogurt, Mexican Breakfast Quiche (see previous post) and Blueberry Quinoa Pancakes (recipe to come) and of course… Mimosas.

Foodie’s gotta keep it real…

Homemade Granola a la’ Hubs

3 C. old-fashioned rolled oats

1 C. raw unsalted cashews

1 C. raw unsalted pistachios

1/3 C. flax seeds

2/3 C. Creamed Honey (sold at Trader Joes)

1/3 C. canola oil

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cardamom

1 tsp cinnamon

1 c. dried cranberries

Preheat the oven to 325. Line a baking sheet with nonstick foil. You can used parchment or wax, but it doesn’t get as crunchy. In a large bowl combine all ingredients except cranberries. Combine until well coated. Spread onto a large rimmed baking sheet and bake at 325 for 30-45 minutes, depending on your oven. Granola should be a golden brown.

Let cool to room temperature on the sheet over a wire rack. Mix in cranberries and store in containter.

Makes 6 Cups.

Leave a Reply

