Kumquat and Hoosier Momma BBQ Sauce

hoosier sauceKumquat season is back! This recipe was one I created last year but never had the chance to post. With my entire series on Kumquats (see- Kumquat Tea Cakes, Kumquat Chutney, Kumquat Curry Chicken, Deconstructed Kumquat Salad), I may have burned myself out on those tiny little citrus goodies.

So here is my chance at filing this recipe out of my drafts, a spring cleaning of blog posts, if you will.  These days Hubs and I are so busy I need to combine multiple things at once, like adding drinks into my sauces. This somehow makes me feel like I’m multi-tasking my way through the kitchen.

What could be better and possibly more necessary than combining one’s favorite bloody mary mix into a BBQ sauce fit for spring and summer? The kumquat puree adds a fabulous citrus tang, unlike anything you’ve ever tasted.

 What’s with the Hoosier Momma? Well, I must confess, this stuff is impossible to get on the West Coast in stores. So unless you have friends in the midwest, I suspect you’ll have to swap out the mix. If you live in SoCal, I love Ballast Point Bloody Mary Mix.  Just remember to pick a spicy thick mix, Mr. T’s will likely give you a runny sauce.

Kumquat and Hoosier Momma BBQ Sauce

1 cup Hoosier Momma Bloody Mary Mix (or your favorite Mix)

1/2 cup dark brown sugar

3/4 cup Kumquat Puree (recipe follows)

Add all ingredients to large sauce pan. Bring to boil and simmer uncovered for approximately 20 minutes or until the consistency of ketchup. Sauce will thicken as it cools.

Makes 1 1/2 cups barbecue sauce.

Kumquat Puree

1 pound large ripe kumquats

 5 tablespoons light corn syrup

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/2 cup vodka

With a paring knife cut and separate pulp from rind. Coarsely chop rinds and add to saucepan with 1/2 cup of water, 5 tablespoons of light corn syrup and 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger.

 Simmer covered for 45 minutes. Cool and place in food processor and pulse for 3 minutes or until pureed.

One thought on “Kumquat and Hoosier Momma BBQ Sauce

Leave a Reply

